Saturday, August 3, 2013

Past event (2013)

Matinee Concert

Saturday, August 3 | 12:30pm
Yi, Brahms, Strauss, and Berio
Chen Yi (b. 1953) Qi for flute, cello, piano, and percussion (1996-1997)
Sooyun Kim, flute; Fernando Arias, cello; Hui Wu, piano; Eduardo Leandro, percussion
Richard Strauss (1864-1949) (arr. Rudolf Leopold) Metamorphosen, TrV 290 (1944-1945, arr. 1995)
Curtis Macomber and Helen Kim, violins; Roger Tapping and Rose Hashimoto, violas; Sang Yhee and Yumino Weber, cellos; Samuel Suggs, double bass
Luciano Berio (1925-2003) Linea for two pianos, vibraphone, and marimba (1973)
Christina Dahl and Lee Dionne, pianos; Eduardo Leandro, marimba; Ji Hye Jung, vibraphone
Johannes Brahms (1833-1897) String Quintet in F Major, Op. 88& (1882)
Anthony Marwood and Brigid Coleridge, violins; Maria Lambros and Pei-Ling Lin, violas; Gwen Krosnick, cello

Pre-Concert Discussion

Saturday, August 3 | 7:00pm
"Verge" and music that marks the events of our lives with Yellow Barn musicians
Music that examines the senses, explores human vulnerability, and celebrates the events that mark our lives brings Yellow Barn’s summer season to a close. Along with Yellow Barn musicians, composer Lei Liang speaks about Verge, his work for eighteen solo strings inspired by the birth of his son.

Season Finale

Saturday, August 3 | 8:00pm
van der Aa, Dean, J.S. Bach, Mendelssohn, and Liang
Michel van der Aa (b. 1970) Wake for two percussionists (1997)        
Eduardo Leandro and Ji Hye Jung, percussion  
Brett Dean (b. 1961) Night Window for clarinets, viola, and piano (1993)
Wai Lau, clarinet; Rose Hashimoto, viola; Joseph Liccardo, piano

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) “Nichts ist es spat und frühe” from Cantata BWV 97 (1734)

Johann Sebastian Bach “Stürze zu Boden” from Cantata BWV 126 (1725)      
William Sharp, baritone; Fernando Arias and Stephen Coxe, continuo
Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847) String Quartet in A Minor, Op. 13 (1827) 
Violaine Melançon and Ari Isaacman-Beck, violins; Maria Lambros, viola; Ahrim Kim, cello
Lei Liang (b. 1972) Verge for 18 solo strings (2009) 
Joseph Maile, Jueyoung Yang, Brigid Coleridge, Luri Lee, Qianqian Li, Suliman Tekalli, Helen Kim, Ariel Mitnick, violins; Benjamin Beck, Pei-Ling Lin, Jinsun Hong, Sophie Heaton, violas; Natasha Brofsky, Talya Buckbinder, Madeline Fayette, Frédéric Rosselet; Samuel Suggs, double bass; Alan Kay, bass clarinet